Posted on

Explanations part two: A Reflection on Purpose

The way I see it, my purpose in this universe is twofold.
1. To learn as much as I possibly can, to challenge my own thinking, to question everything and take nothing for granted.
2. To inspire others to do exactly the same, to guide when possible but better to merely point and inspire them to do it themselves.

When someone tells you to reach for the stars, I want you to look them in the eye and say “Why?”

Do me a favor internet. Soak in the world around you. Learn. Comprehend. Question. Debate. Argue. Admit you’re wrong sometimes. Think everything over carefully, deliberately, methodically.

“Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense.”

said the Buddha. I’m not sure I agree with the guy’s goals, but he was on the right track. So was Descartes, but he was afraid and fucked up. We shouldn’t. We live in a new world, much different than either of them.

Pictured above: A Failure

It’s okay now for us to literally start from scratch, rather than what Descartes did. In case you’re not familiar, he cheated a bit. Said he was going to start from scratch, and then proceed to start with “God exists, therefore…” We don’t have to even do that anymore. The modern thinker is more free than he ever has been.

So be a thinker.

Regardless of your occupation, your IQ, your education. Don’t accept what you’re fed.

As a species, let us grow. Progress. Reach further.

That’s why this blog is here. That’s what I want to do, that’s what I want everyone to do. And nothing less.

About forthesakeofdebate

I enjoy intellectual discussion and learning, metal music, martial arts, and blades. Pretty soon I'll be your favorite misanthrope.

One response to “Explanations part two: A Reflection on Purpose

  1. I think this is fundamentally true and good, so I don’t know quite how to play devil’s advocate.

    And I’m kinda ashamed that my first instinct IS to play devil’s advocate with something like this.

What say you!?

